The Réseau des Écoles françaises à l’étranger

The Écoles françaises à l’étranger (EFE) constitute a network of five higher education and research establishments, governed by decree 2011-164 of February 10, 2011. Established in Greece (École française d'Athènes, 1846), in Italy (École française de Rome, 1875), Egypt (Institut français d’archéologie orientale, Cairo, 1880), Asia (École française d’Extrême-Orient, Paris, 1898) and Spain (Casa de Velázquez, Madrid, 1920), they fulfil a triple mission of training, research and dissemination in human and social sciences.

They welcome young researchers at doctoral or post-doctoral level, rely on a community of recognised researchers, French or foreign, and publish around a hundred volumes per year. They develop collaborative and cooperative networks in the host countries which make them irreplaceable players in French research abroad. Since 2015, they have had a "board of directors" which oversees the network's joint operations.

Missions

The Écoles françaises à l’étranger carry out training, research, dissemination and outreach missions.

For research training, they welcome doctoral and post-doctoral students for various lengths of time and at different levels: one year members, renewable two or three times; scholarship holders for one month or more; interns for archaeological excavations; students in thematic doctoral training seminars; doctoral students with university contracts. They also welcome young curators, archivists, librarians, architects, topographers and publishing professionals for professional internships. Everyone is offered the opportunity to work in an international professional environment.

In the countries where they are established, EFEs develop research missions in many areas of the human and social sciences, following a five-year programme: archaeology, art history, history, religious sciences, philology, anthropology, ethnology or social Sciences. Members, former members or associate researchers participate in these missions. Facilities are offered for one-year (renewable) members (EFA, EFR, IFAO, Casa), permanent staff (EFEO), resident researchers of one month or more, CNRS international researchers or European researchers (Marie Sklodowska-Curie Programme). The EFEs are also able to accommodate researchers in archaeological dig houses on excavations. The missions they host benefit from an immediately operational administrative, scientific and technical environment.

The Écoles ensure the dissemination and promotion of the data they produce. They publish around one hundred monographs per year, around ten specialist journals and numerous conference proceedings. They organize scientific events (conferences, exhibitions, etc.) in the host countries and in France, for specialists or the general public.

Governance

Reporting to the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation, Écoles françaises à l’étranger are governed by a common decree (2011-164 of February 10, 2011). They are placed under the scientific supervision of the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres as well as of the Académie des Beaux-Arts for the artistic section of the Casa and of the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques at the École française de Rome. Each EFE has a board of directors and a scientific council, as well as an artistic council for the Casa. By convention, in January 2015, they created a "board of directors" with a rotating presidency, a body for discussion and proposals for the network. Since 2013, they have been represented at the Conférence des Présidents d’Universités.

The President of the Réseau

Brigitte Marin

Brigitte Marin is the President of the Réseau, since 1 January 2021.

Director of the École française de Rome since September 1, 2019, she is professor of modern history at Aix-Marseille University and director of studies at EHESS.

She directed the Maison méditerranéenne des sciences de l’homme (2009-2017) and coordinated the LabexMed Laboratory of Excellence "Les sciences humaines et sociales au cœur de l’interdisciplinarité pour la Méditerranée" (2011-2019).

 Former student of the École normale supérieure at Saint-Cloud and former member of the École française de Rome, where she was director of studies for the modern and contemporary periods from 2000 to 2006, she rejoined the University of Provence where she had been a lecturer from 1992.

A specialist in the urban, social and cultural history of modern Italy, she has published several studies on the history of cities in southern Europe in the modern age, particularly concerning 18th century Naples.

Le Réseau des EFE

Les Écoles françaises à l’étranger (EFE) constituent un réseau de cinq établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche, régis par le décret 2011-164 du 10 février 2011. Établies en Grèce (École française d’Athènes, 1846), en Italie (École française de Rome, 1875), en Égypte (Institut français d’archéologie orientale, Le Caire, 1880), en Asie (École française d’Extrême-Orient, Paris, 1898) et en Espagne (Casa de Velázquez, Madrid, 1920), elles remplissent une triple mission de formation, de recherche et de diffusion en sciences humaines et sociales.

Elles accueillent des jeunes chercheurs au niveau doctorat ou post-doctorat, s’appuient sur une communauté de chercheurs confirmés, français ou étrangers, et publient une centaine de volumes par an. Elles développent dans les pays d’accueil des réseaux de collaboration et de coopération qui font d’elles des acteurs irremplaçables de la recherche française à l’étranger. Depuis 2015, elles sont dotées d’un "comité des directeurs" qui pilote les opérations communes du réseau.

Missions

Les Écoles françaises à l’étranger accomplissent des missions de formation, de recherche, de diffusion et de valorisation.
Elles assurent une mission de formation à la recherche ; à cette fin, elles accueillent des doctorants et des post-doctorants pour des durées diverses et sous des statuts multiples : membres d’un an renouvelable deux ou trois fois, boursiers d’un mois ou plus, stagiaires pour les fouilles archéologiques, étudiants en séminaire de formation doctorale thématique, ou en contrat doctoral avec une université. Elles accueillent aussi en stage professionnel de jeunes conservateurs, archivistes, bibliothécaires, architectes, topographes, ou professionnels de l’édition. À tous, elles offrent l’opportunité de travailler dans un cadre professionnel international.

Dans les pays où elles sont implantées, les EFE développent, selon une programmation quinquennale, des missions de recherche dans de nombreux domaines des sciences humaines et sociales : archéologie, histoire de l’art, histoire, sciences religieuses, philologie, anthropologie, ethnologie ou sciences sociales. À ces missions participent les membres, les anciens membres ou des chercheurs associés. Elles disposent de supports d’accueil pour des membres d’un an renouvelable (EFA, EFR, IFAO, Casa) ou permanents (EFEO), des chercheurs résidents d’un mois ou plus, des chercheurs sur mobilité internationale du CNRS ou européenne (Programme Marie Sklodowska-Curie). Elles ont aussi la capacité d’héberger les chercheurs dans des structures installées sur les sites où elles mènent des fouilles archéologiques. Les missions qu’elles accueillent bénéficient d’un environnement administratif, scientifique et technique immédiatement opérationnel.

Les Écoles assurent la diffusion et la valorisation des données qu’elles produisent. Elles publient une centaine de monographies par an, une dizaine de revues spécialisées et de nombreux actes de colloques. Elles organisent dans les pays hôtes et en France des manifestations scientifiques (conférences, expositions, etc.) à destination des spécialistes ou du grand public.

Gouvernance

Relevant du Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation, les Écoles françaises à l’étranger sont régies par un décret commun (2011-164 du 10 février 2011). Elles sont placées sous la tutelle scientifique de l’Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres ainsi que de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts pour la section artistique de la Casa et de l’Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques pour l’École française de Rome. Chaque EFE est dotée d’un conseil d’administration et d’un conseil scientifique, ainsi que d’un conseil artistique pour la Casa. Par convention, elles ont créé en janvier 2015, un "comité des directeurs" avec présidence tournante, instance de réflexion et de proposition du réseau. Depuis 2013, elles sont représentées à la Conférence des Présidents d’Universités.

La Présidente du Réseau

​ Véronique Chankowski

Mme Véronique Chankowski est Présidente du Réseau depuis le 1er janvier 2020, pour une durée d'un an.

Directrice de l’École française d’Athènes (EFA) depuis 2019, elle est également Professeur d’histoire égéenne et économie antique à l’Université Lumière–Lyon 2 depuis 2012, où elle enseigne l’histoire grecque en Licence, Master et Doctorat. De 2013 à 2018, elle a aussi été directrice du laboratoire HiSoMA (Histoire et Sources des Mondes Antiques, UMR 5189 de la Maison de l’Orient et de la Méditerranée).

Normalienne de l’ENS de Fontenay-Saint-Cloud et agrégée de Lettres classiques (1993), ancien membre de l’École française d’Athènes (1996-2000) et ancien membre junior de l’Institut Universitaire de France (promotion 2005), elle a été Directrice des Études de l’École française d’Athènes de 2006 à 2009 et responsable de plusieurs programmes de recherches en archéologie et histoire des mondes méditerranéens antiques.